In Progress...

Free Life Posted on 8/16/2014 1:03:46 AM
Chapter 7: 4000 words and counting
Hero Posted on 3/25/2012 7:32:33 PM
Chapter 6 Chance and Choice: 3,600 words and counting
Long Lost Brother Posted on 4/21/2010 2:57:30 PM
Chapter 5: 0 words and counting.

Recent Activity

There has been no activity in the past week.

Reviews

Free Life
123
 
Guest_Roger Vivier Flats    8/22/2014 12:34:01 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Free Life - MVS Fiction
[url=http://www.lepassagetoindia.com/rogervivier.asp]Roger Vivier Flats[/url]

Guest_air Max 11    2/8/2014 10:46:44 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
The New York Jets lack a lot of things, but chief among them is a go-to wide receiver for Geno Smith to work with. Smith doesn't need a speedy deep threat but, instead, can wish for a smart route-runner who can get open in space.
[url=http://yeshoe.jigsy.com/]air Max 11[/url]
Guest_LouisTsunami    9/7/2009 8:41:00 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
You are very talented at making me highly frustrated with these characters. First Ron, then (and still) Hermione, Dumbledore, and now Molly and Arthur. I could kick them for putting their own daughter through that, and then I remember that it is just a story and wonder when exactly the line between reality and fantasy blurred. Long story short (too late) you do a phenomenal job of developing your characters. I have a good feeling about an upcoming aliance with Minerva, and I'm holding out hope for Shacklebolt at this point. I don't recall seing Moody around much. I imagine he would have some strong opinions, although I can't be sure if they would be in Harry's favor or Dumbledore's... I'll be keeping an eye out in case he makes an appearance.

Guest_    9/7/2009 6:26:23 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Really enjoy this story. It would be nice if a few more people started to consider all the laws they broke keeping Harry a virtual prisoner in an abusive household and how far from "the light" Bumbles led them. Have they considered yet how helpless the war is if they just keep stunning DEs and letting them portkey away? Have they considered portkeys for themselves? Do any of them have two brain cells to rub together? Have they looked at how useless they are, especially compared to a 16year old boy? Will any of them consider training? Will anyone realize that reducto is better then a stunner? Will the ministry ever take the war seriously and go on the offensive? Why is Harry always the only one who takes the seriously? Have the Grangers considered what Herms is doing to her best friend?
Guest_CluelessWarrior    9/7/2009 5:28:02 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
not too good at this critique stuff, so I'll just say: Good work and keep it up!

Thanks

Guest_ckilllen    8/31/2009 10:31:43 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Solid Beginning to the sequal of TC, I eagerly await the next chapters. Thanks for you time and effort to provid us with reading enjoyment
Guest_Makeith    8/19/2009 5:26:23 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I've been reading fanfiction for about 3 months straight now and I wanted to say that this series has been one of the best all though i'm still not comfortable with the changes in personlities you made to the characters. I like what you've done with Harry and Ginny to an extent but it's like you've multiplied the personalities of everyone by three and exaggerated all of there flaws. It's a little annoying because i'm so used to them being one way but overall i'm getting used to it and the story has been good. I'm just hoping that you make Hermonie get her act together and get her back with Ron and Harry; that's the most disturbing to me by far. Keep up the good work man, i'm riding with you!

Guest_JBird7986    8/12/2009 1:59:14 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Thank you so much for crafting some truly incredible stories. You may not believe this, but I found Taking Chances only yesterday and have now read through that as well as all of Free Life that has been posted. It is some truly amazing storytelling, and I love the way that you have crafted all of the characters so far. They all seem alive, with their own unique personalities and experiences. I cannot wait for the next chapter of Free Life to come out, and I eargerly anticipate thoroughly enjoying it.
Guest_Aragorn    8/9/2009 1:30:14 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Go, Minerva!

Already reviewed on SIYE but had to read it once more while chapter 3 is being concocted.

knightsbridge    8/8/2009 2:38:11 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Brilliant, as usual.

I really try not so say those dreaded words "Update Soon." as it really means nothing to a writer. You will post when a chapter meets with your approval, and not before. That's not to say I don't look forward to more :).

I suspect we're all in for the long haul.

Darian
johnapple6x6    8/7/2009 12:22:21 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Most excellent writing. Thank you for the enjoyment you have given me.

Jenn    8/2/2009 3:54:28 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Ha! Got it! The representation of Tom on Ginny's mind was really blocking her magic! The golden light when they got rid of it showed that Ginny's back to full strength, which explains why she is so good at wandless magic now! Woo!
...am I right?
I'm really glad that Minerva's still on his side. Will Ginny join Harry in his rescues from now on? I would love to read about the look on Dumbledore's face if he realizes that Ginny is quite powerful herself!
Guest_Niala495    7/29/2009 6:10:50 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
HURRY!!!!! PLEASE update soon on fanfiction.net!!
I CANNOT WAIT until I get the chance to read Chapter 3.

Guest_piper    7/19/2009 5:50:27 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I love this story and Taking Control. Read it over and over again. I have a few questions. What happened to Draco? Will Hermione ever get some sense knocked in her head? Who else will join Harry's side? I can't wait to find out! Please update soon!
Guest_Bev    7/10/2009 7:45:37 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Have I ever mentioned how awesome your minerva is? I not... She is so bad-ass, I love it!

This was a very exciting chapter, I'm so psyched for harry to have his own little army. I can't stop imagining scenarios where they just blow everyone away....

So cool!

Guest_Albus H Potter    7/6/2009 2:54:56 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Remus and Tonks let Harry i Ginny live together without a word? Without "The Talk" :)? Pity that in Order Meeting Moody doesn't speak or he is in hospital?

Thanks
PS Sorry for my English. This isn't my national language.
Guest_Chris    7/2/2009 3:13:50 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Ooo, a nice long chapter certainly helped my Free Life withdrawl. I realize that since you reep no monetary gain from this novel that your time must be limited, so I don't begrudge the long wait between chapters. You continually succeed in your effort to tell a ripping good story. For me, this is truly the Harry I wish had appeared in the books after OOTP. You're doing a splendid job! Please keep writing, and I'll keep coming back for more.

Guest_Niala    6/27/2009 6:00:34 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
oh I forgot, thank you so much for the distance between Harry and Ron/Hermione. They're great characters but I kinda hate their personalities!! Did you notice their actions and how it affects Harry? HOnestly, I had hopped JKR had introduced Ginny a bit earlier on and had a bit more Fred and George. That's why I like your fanfics so much.

bye (again) .
Guest_Niala    6/27/2009 5:51:55 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
OMG!!!! That was incredible!! Have you ever considered writing your own books with your own characters? If you never did you really should consider it! I bet it would be amazing!! I would totally read it if it was as great as this fanfic!!!! PLEASE update this fanfic soon!!! I just love the confident Harry persona. And I totally know where you're going at with HBP, Harry hadn't seem to grow magically although I do like how JKR added some inches on his height! He really needed them! Could you like change something about his appearance in your fanfic, a good change by the way. Maybe his height or something. thanks for the fanfic, I love it and update soon.

bye.

Guest_fan-fic-addic    6/25/2009 10:18:41 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
More! Good emotional development, allthough if Harry and Ginny are going to be living together you really need to address that topic. (not the domestice niceties you touch on)

Minerva is a nice addition, and Tonks was there almost on default with Remus, but maybe it's time for some more Order members to ally with Harry, or at least attempt to.

The trap was definitely not severe enough. There should have been dozens of DE's around in cloaks etc. They still don't know Harry's wandless abilities or magic-sensing capabilities, but after escaping the core of Tom's lair, they should be going all-out. (balls to the wall)

Great writing, you leave me hoping for more!
Guest_vcelliott    6/25/2009 8:11:33 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
One of the better fics. thanks

Guest_OoklahThePunk57    6/24/2009 12:39:49 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I am so glad you are continuing with this story! I'm not a big H/G fan myself, but you have put together a truly great story and, more importantly, stuck with it. Too often you find a well written and interesting story only to have it abandoned before it runs it's course.

The Harry/Ginny relationship is much more believable here (at least for me), than most fics, especially in light of Hermione's betrayal and the distance between them and Ron. Ron does seem to be turning around, so perhaps he and Minerva might join Harry's faction as well. I am wondering if Harry will make changes to counteract the fact that the DEs now know he will show at any of his student's houses. I would also like to see one of his students kick some DE ass!

And Dumbledore. Damn, you've gotta hate that guy sometimes. In your fic, you almost feel sorry for him for clinging to his opinions in light of massive evidence to the contrary. But make no mistake, he's a danger to Harry and his cause.

Keep writing! It's fics like this that keep HP FFN alive. The last time I read TC, it had just finished. I reread it and the first chapter of FL just a few weeks ago. I am seriously considering rereading everything again in the near future. Thank you for your work!
Guest_Jessie    6/23/2009 11:12:39 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
My goodness. Your chapters are so long (15,000ish words?!?), but it doesn't seem like it at all. I get so into it that by the end of a chapter I have no regard for the hour or two spent reading, I just want more! This is like candy.

Guest_jbuggenz1@blackberry.alltel.com    6/23/2009 10:52:02 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I finished your story taking control and instantly started the sequel. Your stories are fabulous and have a Harry that I find very believable. I can't wait for the next chapter.
Guest_Fugatad    6/23/2009 8:20:13 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Another brilliant chapter. I hope you update soon as I am addicted to your stories.

Guest_sternchen110697    6/23/2009 1:07:02 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Great! Just - great. Please keep writing as long as possible!
Guest_marina4370@katamail.com    6/22/2009 4:28:36 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Sorry, I forgot: please, please, please don't make H/G break up. Never!

Guest_marina4370@katamail.com    6/22/2009 3:57:35 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I love your story. You are a wonderful writer. I think Taking Control is the best fanfiction I ever read and I've read really a lot of them.
I love the indipendent Harry, I love the split of the trio and the H/G close relationship. I only hope you'll continue writing and that you could end this story. Thank you for writing and sharing with us. Marina
Guest_Bill    6/21/2009 10:23:21 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I absolutely love this story, though I hate the portrayal of Hermione in it - there are character traits that point towards her being how you show her, but I think that in everything, Harry comes first. Either way, this is a fantastic story!

I hope Dumbledore comes to his senses!

Count Westwest    6/21/2009 8:43:15 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
That was a really satisfying chapter.
Miguel Spain    6/20/2009 7:37:57 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Not bad I´m wonder what is the order going to do now, it is a good chapter keep writing I want more so update soon see ya.

Guest_Matt    6/20/2009 6:06:10 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Good story getting a very good start on this one. I just read Taking Control and am planning on enjoying this one as well. As for the first two chapters I am enjoying it. Like the H/Hr conflict since she is always playing the know-it-all and usually very bossy when it comes to it which I like the way you are portraying her. Gotta also like the almost evil Albus. Good job keep up the good work
Guest_Sssith    6/20/2009 7:06:55 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Nice chappy. Looking forward to seeing the continued dynamic of the trio. Ron is certainly maturing quickly. Surprised at Arthur and Molly.

Guest_peregrin    6/20/2009 1:10:01 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I'm glad that you started your own site to post this story.
Guest_Talon    6/19/2009 2:50:36 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Another great chapter matt well done

Guest_kyle    6/19/2009 2:17:40 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
This chapter was great! I loved Taking Control, but it's sooo hard waiting for new chapters now. Keep going!
Guest_emmydantes    6/19/2009 7:19:03 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Brilliant! Hope you don't run out of inspiration.

Guest_Cary    6/19/2009 4:34:55 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Awesome chapter. Well worth the wait.
Guest_Wolfric    6/19/2009 12:21:34 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Great chapter. I am so glad to hear from you, a chapter from you always makes my day. It will be very interesting to to see how Harry changes his plans to deal with the deatheaters knowing how he goes about things. By coincidence I am rereading Taking Control at this time. I am enjoying it a great deal. Thanks for writing. W.

marinepotterfan    6/18/2009 2:08:55 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Wow, I think that Harry and Ginny are bonded and togather they are more powerful. It was so wrong for Molly and Arthur to let Dumbles to to that to Ginny.

Thanks for Writing
MPF
Guest_Quackpotty    6/18/2009 11:52:25 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Awesomeness. That's this chapter in a word.
Hmm, I'm glad that Ginny wasn't at the Patil's with Harry, otherwise it would have been far worse. Although, it may have been interesting to have Harry turn around and blast the whole house once he was away. At least Bella would've been injured a fair bit more. Ah well, wha'ever.
So, we are starting to see a little more evidence to support some sort of connection between Harry and Ginny. I'm glad. It will likely play a large role later, or so I hope.
I tried to stop myself from reading this chapter for at least a month so that I can get a slightly smaller wait for the next chapter, but as you can see, I only lasted a little over a day. I really enjoyed it in the end, though, so I'm not upset by my lack of control. Thanks for the new chapter, and I eagerly await more.
BTW, I'm unable to login for some reason. Is there something wrong with my account?

Guest_phoebe turner    6/18/2009 11:51:14 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
great chapter!!!
Guest_tubby2008    6/18/2009 11:12:52 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
this is amazing i love every second of it it is better than jk's please bring us the next chapter as soon as you can

Guest_CheetahYoda    6/18/2009 9:21:00 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Awesome Chapter! I love reading your work!

Guest_Serious_Blue    6/18/2009 8:06:21 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Awesome, I have been waiting for this chapter. I am glad you decided to continue the story.

Guest_Chris    6/17/2009 7:04:55 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
BLOODY BRILLIANT. There is simply nothing else that can be said. Pure Genius. I think it's pretty obvious to everyone who reads your stories that you are a fricken wicked writer. Keep up the great work and i anxiously count the seconds until the next chapter arrives.
Guest_Dutchie    6/17/2009 2:14:46 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
I liked this chapter, but maybe it's a good idea to make them a little bit shorter. That way you can post more often and people still remember what happened in the last few chapters. I find myself forgetting it all the time, with all the other stories I read. But loved this chapter.

griffinhawk    6/17/2009 1:54:21 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Ha! You just made my week! A new chapter!

It was well worth the wait.

I'm glad to see people starting to line up behind Harry. He's gonna need the help now that the opposition is stepping up their game.

I'm glad to see Ron's thinking straight again... maybe next chapter Ron will get his chance to clear the air between them? I mean if Ginny is training with Gred and Forge, it's just a matter of time before he walks in on them--

As for Hermione, I'm still anxiously awaiting for her to get knocked down a peg or 2...0r 3, but, everything happens at it's appointed time.

I was kinda surprised at the tactics Albus used on Ginny. (He shoulda known better...BAD BOY!)
BUT....it did make a great curve in the story arc and also gave a reason for Ginny to be able to spend the summer with Harry.

If Snivelous keeps bad mouthing Harry, will Harry get a chance to show the professor just how far off course he is?!!

I am loving "Free Life" and anticipating chapter 3. Have a Happy 4th of July!

Guest_Sir Ollivander    6/17/2009 1:31:49 PM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Another excellent chapter! Harry still is out thinking Voldemort and Dumbledore, with a little help from Remus and now Tonks. Maybe with Minevra, too, now. Dumbledore's attach on Ginny's mind was wrong and I'm glad everyone agrees with that. And for Harry to come to her rescue and they both leave for "home" was great. Just waiting for the next chapter. ~Tom

Guest_    6/17/2009 6:29:24 AM    Chapter 2: Constant Vigilance
Wow, you fixed that last phrase, but how did you get interrupted in the first place? Anyhow, there seem to be some grammar problems here and there, stuff like tenses and such, did you look once more over it? In one place you used "he was" and I'm pretty sure it should have been "he had been". I was very surprised with the extremely short time in beta for this chapter. Do you use this site as some sort of UAT environment? Like we use to say, the best testing is done in production... Hopefully with so many people reading here it will be perfect by the time you post anywhere else.
The chapter is marvelous and I am happy you addressed the two most important issues brought by the first one. Your solution to Harry lack of sleep is wonderful, and I am happy with the romance part of this story - very happy. I am sorry that my second prediction has been so close to what actual happens here - both D and LV use Harry's portkeys to try and trap him. And looking forward is clear that LV will put the members of the HA that haven't been attacked yet at the top of his strike list, basically the portkeys turn them into immediate targets and Harry will have to take more proactive measures. It is funny you used the word proactive at some point, I don't see Harry as being proactive much, and D is the soul of inaction, he is not even reactive, he is rather just a spectator of the war. However, Harry will have to do two things to get through the summer (relative to the war): one, actively protect his HA, not just show up and fight. Warding would be good, maybe even the Fidelius. And two, he has to grow out of his 17 years old mentality and realize that there is so much more to war than just fighting. He has to take a step back, get back to research, learning, studying and training. Beyond magic, the next thing he should study is war, tactics and strategy, politics, and such. This chapter is so much better than the previous one, and I love it. Thanks.
123